Digital event:
Patent enablement in the UK – the judgments in the Regeneron and Illumina cases

Events

Join us for a digital event on the 21 April where we will be covering what you need to know about the requirement of patent enablement in the UK – the Supreme Court decision in Regeneron and the High Court decision in Illumina.

In June 2020 the UK Supreme Court issued its decision in the case of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc v Kymab Ltd in which it set quite a strict test for enablement of the claimed invention in a patent. In January 2021 the Patents Court interpreted and applied that test in the case of Illumina Cambridge Ltd v Latvia MGI Tech SIA & Ors.

This webinar hosted by Darren Smyth and Gareth Probert will discuss the two cases and give tips on drafting practice in light of the enablement requirement. The Regeneron case relates to transgenic mice, and the Illumina case to gene sequencing, but we will endeavour to highlight the legal principles without requiring a detailed technical understanding of the technologies involved.

We will be running two sessions for this event. You can use the registration link below to select which session you would like to attend.

Session 1: 08:00 UTC (09:00 BST), 17:00 JST & KST 19:00 AEDT - 21 April

Session 2: 16.00 UTC (17:00 BST), 12:00 EDT, 09:00 PDT - 21 April

Register your attendance here.