Digital event: Reality check for patenting computer-implemented simulations at the EPO

Events

Join us for a digital event on the 2 June.

In its decision G1/19 (Simulations), the Enlarged Board of Appeal (EBoA) of the European Patent Office (EPO) addresses the patentability of computer-implemented simulations.

In this webinar, hosted by David Brinck and Ben Maling, we will discuss the details of the EBoA decision and how it arose from the referring Technical Board of Appeal decision. We will then consider how the decision should be applied to the facts in some high-profile simulation cases, including the case from which the decision arose, and then conclude with a more general discussion of the implications on patenting computer-implemented inventions at the EPO.

We will also explore how the EBoA decision will affect the patenting of computer-implemented inventions in Europe, particularly those involving computer models, and hope that our discussion of the practical implications will be interesting and informative even to those already familiar with the decision.

We will be running two sessions for this event. You can use the registration link to select which session you would like to attend.

Session 1: 09:00 BST, 17:00 JST & KST, 18:00 AEST

Session 2: 17:00 BST, 12:00 EDT, 09:00 PDT

Register your attendance here.